Ayurveda is the 5000 years old Indian health care system, widely practiced, in time with the times. “Ayur” is Sanskrit means “life”, “Veda” means “science”. It is a perfect Science of health and longevity. This holistic science is the knowledge of complete balance of the Body, Mind and spirit, including the emotions and psychology, on all levels. It includes in its consideration, longevity, rejuvenation and self-realization therapies through herbs, diet, exercise, yoga, message, aromas, tantra’s, mantras, and meditation.

According to Ayurvedic tradition health is the balance of elements air, earth, fire, and water-and illness is as excess or deficiency of any particular element. Ayurveda treats illness at its source, rather than at the level of symptoms, and helps an in individual to take responsibility for their own health and well-being. Ayurveda is also known as ‘Ashtanga Veda’ (the word literally means ‘Eight branches of knowledge’) as it is divided into eight specialized branches.

They are as follows:

  • Kaya Chikilsa     ( General medicine )
  • Kaumara Bhritya    ( Pediatrics )
  • Graha Chikilsa    ( Psychiatry and Psychosomatic diseases )
  • Shalakya Tantra    ( Diseases of Eye, Ear, Head, Nose, Throat and related surgery )
  • Shalya Tantra    ( General Surgery )
  • Agada Tantra    ( Toxicology )
  • Rasayana Chikilsa    ( Rejuvenation Therapy )
  • Vajeekarana Chikilsa    ( Aphrodisiac Therapy )

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: